Animating the Hallway scene

For our opening shot initially we wanted for the camera to zoom out from the portrait of Churchhill. However as time has moved on we realise that our concept work is not up to scratch for the portraits in the hall. Therefore we need to have the opening focus be on something else. So instead we are tying it into our idea of the Guard on Tinder and zooming out from a crown logo on the back of his phone.

Animation wise Matthew acted this scene out and I tried to follow it pretty closely. The character will be idly flicking through his phone, will hear the queen’s approach, look up and fumble/juggle with his phone then salute holding it in his hand.  This is the progress so far…

Flicking on his phone

For the Queen’s walk I tried to take into consideration the overlapping action of the crown’s bobbing and so put together a very simple rig to allow me to move the body and the head separately.

The Juggle

we really want to try and make the juggle look as realistic as possible so I had to think a lot about where he would be looking and how he would approach an action like this. Because its so fast I had to look at how Matthew’s acting worked slowed down. The action is also pretty exaggerated so I wanted to tone it down a little as William’s animating style is fairly realistic.

The other Guards

We had lots of plans for how we wanted the other Guards to act. The idea was to have one spill his cup of tea, maybe incorporate the corgi in somehow. Unfortunately I had a lot of issues with my computer and so the Animation progress was majorly slowed down. Fortunately the issue was fixed so I had time to create a couple of salute animations for those characters.

Leave a comment